01706 812947

Rochdale Road, Walsden, Todmorden OL14 6RR


Children in our Early Years follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). The EYFS Curriculum has seven main areas of learning.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy (Reading and Writing)
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

A practical, playful approach to learning, based on the needs and interests of our children, is delivered mainly through topic based planning which is supported by good quality texts. We teach children individually, in small groups and in whole cohorts. Through a combination of teacher input and Continuous Provision opportunities, learning is planned to encourage children to develop their learning independently through exploration and challenge. The Characteristics of Effective Learning are at the heart of the EYFS Curriculum and explore different ways in which children learn. They highlight the importance of playing and learning, active learning and thinking critically. All the learning experiences we plan for the children allow them to utilise and develop these skills. Our learning environments are stimulating and exciting and relevant to the needs and stage of our children.

Phonics in EYFS

In school we use Essential Letters and sounds - a DfE validated SSP

Phonics in school is carried out first thing in the morning, we find this is when the pupils are most alert and focused and it also means we have the remainder of the school day to continue to reinforce the new sound during other activities ensuring that it's really embedded in the child's memory.